In its leadership role the council has the responsibility to assist the pastor in:

  • Defining the parish’s mission – asking how the parish is to be rooted and grounded in God’s love.
  • Searching to discover the directives of the gospel – looking at and interpreting the world, persons, and events in a Christian context.
  • Developing a pastoral plan with priorities and strategies to accomplish them, which sets direction for parish service.
  • Providing organizational structures – building a sense of belonging and participation in the parish and working for clear, consistent, and easily accessible communication.
  • Operating with organizational and procedural guidelines – providing clear parameters to promote and support stewardship as the way of life in the parish.

From Parish Pastoral Council Guidelines, Archdiocese of Louisville, 2011.

Parish Council

Chair: Julia Bausher

Parish Council is our community’s central goal- and policy-setting body, working to align our parish life every more fully with our parish Mission Statement and with the goals established in our 2018 Discernment Process.  The council works with parish organizations to develop an achievable plan so that the goals for our parish community become a reality.  Parish Council also ensures that parish groups follow through on action steps and evaluates progress toward achieving our goals and living out our Mission Statement.

Parish Council members serve for a three-year term.  Meetings are held on the first Tuesday of each month.

Members: (Click HERE to view)

Julia Bausher -Council Chair

Will Coburn

Mike Gandolfo

Ray Triplett

Allison Gousha

Gary Gruneisen

Katie McCullum

Parish Council Meeting Minutes 2023

Click on each month to view the minutes from that Parish Council meeting.

January 2023

February 2023

March 2023

April 2023

May 2023

June 2023

July 2023

August 2023

September 2023

October 2023

November 2023

December 2023

Parish Council Meeting Minutes 2022

Click on each month to view the minutes from that Parish Council meeting.

July 2022

August 2022 -PC Retreat. No Meeting

September 2022

October 2022

November 2022

December 2022

Parish Council Meeting Minutes 2021

Click on each month to view the minutes from that Parish Council meeting.

Parish Discernment Goals

In 2018, St. Leonard Parish participated in a discernment process facilitated by the Archdiocese of Louisville.  We asked, “What is God’s hope for our parish?” in the domains of family life, education and formation, service, and outreach.  Through prayer, reflection, dialogue, and discernment, our parish has identified three major goals in support of our Mission Statement toward which we are especially focusing our energy:

  • Attract, engage, and empower new parishioners
  • Provide outreach to our local community
  • Retain current parishioners